#councilofeurope (6 results)

Page 1 of 1
Photo: Council of Europe

Position, 25 January 2024

Press release

Europe’s Approach to AI regulation: Embracing Big Tech and Security Hardliners

Europe is about to adopt two major regulations on Artificial Intelligence: the EU’s AI Act and the Council of Europe’s Convention on AI. The Federal Council has already announced that it will base its own proposals for AI regulation on them. Yet, while both rulebooks were initially meant to turn the tables on Big Tech and to effectively protect people against governments' abuse of AI technology, interests of tech companies and governments' security hardliners may win out.

Read more
Foto von Christian Lue auf Unsplash

Position, 4 July 2023

Battle in Strasbourg: Civil society fights for safeguards against AI harms

With negotiations on a Convention on Artificial Intelligence (AI) within the Council of Europe entering a crucial stage, a joint statement by AlgorithmWatch and ten other civil society organizations reminds negotiating states of their mandate : to protect human rights, democracy, and the rule of law. To adhere to this mandate and to counter both narrow state interest and companies’ lobbying, the voice of civil society must be listened to.

Read more
Tara Winstead, An Artificial Intelligence Illustration for Pexels

Position, 13 April 2023

Civil society observers call for an effective Council of Europe Convention on AI

On the occasion of the International Data Protection Day on 28 January, AlgorithmWatch and six other civil society organizations remind the Council of Europe of its mandate in negotiating a global Convention on AI.

Read more
Palais de l'Europe, Strasbourg/Wikimedia Commons

Blog, 13 December 2022

AlgorithmWatch CH in Council of Europe Expert Group on AI in public administration

The Committee on Legal Cooperation (CDCJ) of the Council of Europe has established a working group on the topic of administrative law and Artificial Intelligence (AI). Angela Mueller, Head of AlgorithmWatch CH and Head of our Policy & Advocacy team, contributes as an expert to the group.

Read more
Adrian GrycukCC BY-SA 3.0

Position, 18 October 2022

Civil society responds to the Council of Europe Treaty on AI

Together with other observer civil society organizations in the Committee on AI in the Council of Europe, AlgorithmWatch Switzerland stresses the importance of that legal framework on AI based on human rights, democracy, and the rule of law that is currently being elaborated in Strasbourg. We urge the EU not to delay this process in light of the negotiations on its own AI Act currently ongoing in Brussels. The two frameworks have a different purpose and should complement rather than copy-paste each other.

Read more

Position, 7 December 2021

Joint Statement on the Ad Hoc Committee on Artificial Intelligence (CAHAI) in the Council of Europe

Last week, the Council of Europe’s Ad Hoc Committee on Artificial Intelligence (CAHAI) held its last session. In a joint statement with the Conference of International NGOs of the Council of Europe, Global Partners Digital, and Homo Digitalis, AlgorithmWatch expresses concerns over the outcome of the process, and calls upon the Council of Europe to ensure that the procedure leading to a legal framework on AI be inclusive and open to representatives of civil society. Read the full statement below!

Read more
Page 1 of 1

#councilofeurope (5 results)

Seite 1 von 1
Foto: Europarat

Position, 25. Januar 2024

Medienmitteilung

Europa reguliert KI – zugunsten von Big Tech und Sicherheit-Hardlinern

Europa steht kurz davor, zwei wichtige Gesetze zu Künstlichen Intelligenz zu verabschieden: die KI-Verordnung (AI Act) der EU und die KI-Konvention des Europarats. Der Bundesrat hat bereits angekündigt, dass er sich bei seinen KI-Regulierungsvorschlägen an diesen orientieren wird. Beide Regelwerke waren ursprünglich dazu gedacht, die Menschen wirksam vor Big-Tech-Interessen und dem Missbrauch von KI-Technologie durch Regierungen zu schützen. Doch nun könnten die Technologiekonzerne und Sicherheit-Hardliner in den Regierungen ihre Interessen doch noch durchsetzen.

Weiterlesen
Foto von Christian Lue auf Unsplash

Position, 4. Juli 2023

Kampf in Straßburg: Schutz vor KI-Folgen im Fokus der Zivilgesellschaft

Während die Verhandlungen über eine Konvention zu Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) im Europarat in eine entscheidende Phase eintreten, erinnern AlgorithmWatch und zehn weitere zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen in einem Statement die verhandelnden Staaten an ihr Mandat: den Schutz von Menschenrechten, Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu gewährleisten. Um diesem Mandat gerecht zu werden und sowohl engen staatlichen Interessen als auch der Lobbyarbeit von Konzernen entgegenzuwirken, muss die Stimme der Zivilgesellschaft gehört werden.

Weiterlesen
Palais de l'Europe, Strasbourg/Wikimedia Commons

Blog, 13. Dezember 2022

AlgorithmWatch CH in Expertengruppe des Europarates zu KI in der öffentlichen Verwaltung  

Der Ausschuss für rechtliche Zusammenarbeit (European Committee on Legal Cooperation, CDCJ) des Europarates hat eine Arbeitsgruppe zum Thema Verwaltungsrecht und Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) eingerichtet. Angela Müller, Leiterin von AlgorithmWatch CH und Leiterin unseres Policy & Advocacy Teams, wirkt als Expertin in der Gruppe mit.

Weiterlesen
Stanford University Libraries via Public Domain Review

Blog, 20. Mai 2022 (Update: 29. Januar 2024)

Europarat schafft Rahmenbedingungen für Künstliche Intelligenz

Nebst der EU will auch der Europarat in Strassburg Künstliche Intelligenz regulieren – und verhandelt derzeit eine KI-Konvention. In diesem Leitfaden erklären wir, was dahinter steckt, warum das für uns alle wichtig ist und was die nächsten Schritte sind.

Weiterlesen
Tingey Injury Law | Unsplash

Position, 4. April 2022

Gemeinsame Erklärung im Vorfeld der Verhandlungen über einen Rechtsrahmen zu KI im Europarat

Heute nimmt das Committee on Artificial Intelligence (CAI) des Europarats die Verhandlungen zu einem neuen Rechtsrahmen für Systeme der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) auf. In einer gemeinsamen Erklärung fordern AlgorithmWatch und andere zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen die Mitgliedstaaten auf, einen Rechtsrahmen für KI zu schaffen, der sich am Mandat des Europarates orientiert: dem Schutz der Menschenrechte, der Demokratie und der Rechtsstaatlichkeit.

Weiterlesen
Seite 1 von 1