FINDHR: Fair algorithms in personnel selection?

AlgorithmWatch Switzerland is part of the Horizon Europe project “FINDHR”. In this interdisciplinary research project, we address software-related discriminatory effects within recruiting processes by developing methods, tools, and trainings that are designed to avoid discrimination.

Project

16 November 2022

#work

How do you find the most suitable applicants from a large application pool? Application and hiring processes are challenging and involve much time and effort. The desire to let algorithmic decision-making systems do part of the work is therefore understandable. Such ADM (automated decision-making) systems can, for example, pre-sort applications based on resumes or rank applicants with the help of online tests. They’re supposed to find the best applicants while saving time and increasing efficiency. However, experience has shown that the use of such systems can reproduce discrimination or even increase discriminatory barriers in the labor market. 

One of the best-known examples is an application software Amazon allegedly developed some years ago. Amazon wanted to increase the efficiency of the hiring process. While the software was still in testing phase, it turned out that the software's recommendations discriminated against women, as their resumes were sorted out. Amazon said it abandoned the project before deploying the software because attempts to end the discrimination against women weren't successful.

What needs to be considered when developing and using personnel selection software to prevent discrimination? In the project FINDHR - Fairness and Intersectional Non-Discrimination in Human Recommendation, we aim to find answers to this question. Our EU-funded project is designed to develop fair algorithms for personnel selection using a context-sensitive approach. This approach isn’t restricted to technical aspects of ADM systems, but extends its scope by factoring in the development context of the system or the social consequences it might have. The interdisciplinary and international research consortium, of which AlgorithmWatch Switzerland is a member, started in November 2022 and works on developing new tools (1) to measure discrimination risks, (2) to produce fairness-aware rankings and interventions, and (3) to provide interpretations to various stakeholders enabling them to act upon. In addition, new technical guidance for conducting impact assessments and algorithmic audits, a protocol for monitoring equity, and a guide for developing equity-aware ADM software will be developed. Another project objective will be the design and providing of specialized training for developers and auditors of ADM systems.

The development of discrimination-sensitive AI applications requires the processing of sensitive data. Therefore, the project will include a legal analysis discussing the tensions between data protection legislation and anti-discrimination legislation in Europe. Throughout the project, groups potentially affected by discrimination will be involved.

AlgorithmWatch Switzerland, together with other project partners, is going to focus on the development of tools ensuring that algorithms in personnel selection procedures are based on ethical principles and won’t reproduce discriminatory biases. AlgorithmWatch Switzerland will also contribute to the project with evidence-based policy work and communication initiatives.

All results will be published as open-access publications, open-source software, open datasets, and open courseware. We will regularly report on the results in our social media channels and on the AlgorithmWatch Switzerland website.

This article is part of a project that has received funding from the European Union's Horizon Europe research and innovation program under grant agreement No 101070212.

Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.

FINDHR: Faire Algorithmen bei personellen Auswahlverfahren

AlgorithmWatch Schweiz ist Teil des Horizon Europe-Projekts «FINDHR». Bei dem interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekt geht es darum, den diskriminierenden Auswirkungen von Software im Bereich der Personalauswahl (Recruiting) zu begegnen und Methoden, Tools und Trainings zu entwickeln, um diese zu vermeiden.

Projekt

16. November 2022

#work

Wie lassen sich aus einem grossen Bewerbungspool die am besten geeigneten Kandidat*innen finden? Bewerbungs- und Einstellungsprozesse sind eine Herausforderung und mit viel Aufwand verbunden. Da liegt der Wunsch nahe, bei diesen Prozessen einen Teil der Arbeit algorithmischen Entscheidungssystemen zu überlassen. Mit solchen ADM-Systemen (ADM steht für automated decision-making) können beispielsweise Bewerbungen mittels der Lebensläufe vorsortiert oder Rangfolgen von Bewerbenden mithilfe von Online-Tests erstellt werden. Ihr Einsatz verspricht, Zeit zu sparen und die Effektivität zu steigern, und trotzdem die besten Bewerbenden zu finden. Die bisherigen Erfahrungen mit ihnen haben aber gezeigt, dass bei ihrer Anwendung Diskriminierungsmuster reproduziert und diskriminierende Hürden auf dem Arbeitsmarkt sogar noch vergrößert werden können. 

Eines der bekanntesten Beispiele dafür ist eine Bewerbungssoftware, die Amazon entwickelt haben soll. Sie sollte Einstellungsprozesse effizienter machen. Noch in der Testphase der Software stellte sich aber Berichten zufolge heraus, dass der Empfehlungsalgorithmus der Software Frauen diskriminierte, indem ihre Lebensläufe aussortiert wurden. Amazon beendete das Projekt nach eigener Aussage, bevor die Software zum Einsatz kam, da Versuche, die Benachteiligung von Frauen abzustellen, keinen Erfolg hatten.

Was muss bei der Entwicklung und beim Einsatz von Personalauswahl-Software beachtet werden, damit Diskriminierung von Beginn an ausgeschlossen ist? In dem Projekt FINDHR – Fairness and Intersectional Non-Discrimination in Human Recommendation sollen Antworten auf diese Frage erarbeitet werden. Das EU-geförderte Projekt hat zum Ziel, mit einem kontextsensitiven Ansatz faire Algorithmen für die Personalauswahl zu entwickeln. Bei diesem Ansatz werden nicht nur die technischen Aspekte von ADM-Systemen berücksichtigt, sondern beispielsweise auch der Kontext der Entstehung oder die sozialen Folgen, die sich aus ihrem Einsatz ergeben. Das interdisziplinäre und internationale Forschungskonsortium, zu dem AlgorithmWatch Schweiz gehört, arbeitet seit November 2022 an neuen Instrumenten, die: (1) Diskriminierungsrisiken messen, (2) fairnessbewusste Rankings und Interventionen erstellen sowie (3) verschiedenen Interessengruppen Interpretationen bereitstellen, die sie als Handlungsgrundlage nutzen können. Darüber hinaus werden neue technische Anleitungen für die Durchführung von Folgeabschätzungen und algorithmischen Audits, ein Protokoll für die Überwachung von Gleichstellung und ein Leitfaden für die Entwicklung von fairnessorientierter ADM-Software erarbeitet. Die Konzeption und Durchführung spezieller Schulungen für Entwickler*innen und Prüfer*innen von ADM-Systemen wird ein weiteres Projektziel sein.

Die Entwicklung diskriminierungssensibler KI-Anwendungen erfordert die Verarbeitung sensibler Daten. Deshalb wird das Projekt eine rechtliche Analyse beinhalten, in der die Spannungen zwischen den Datenschutzvorschriften und den Antidiskriminierungsvorschriften in Europa erörtert werden. In dem Projekt werden potenziell von Diskriminierung betroffene Gruppen einbezogen werden.

AlgorithmWatch Schweiz wird sich gemeinsam mit anderen Projektpartner*innen auf die Entwicklung von Werkzeugen konzentrieren, die sicherstellen, dass der Einsatz von Algorithmen in Personalauswahlverfahren auf ethischen Grundsätzen beruht und keine diskriminierenden Vorurteile reproduziert. Zudem wird AlgorithmWatch Schweiz mit seiner evidenzbasierten Policy-Arbeit zum Projekt beitragen und es mit Kommunikationsmassnahmen unterstützen.

Alle Ergebnisse werden als Open-Access-Publikationen, Open-Source-Software, offene Datensätze und offene Kursunterlagen veröffentlicht werden. Wir werden regelmässig in den Social Media-Kanälen und auf der Website von AlgorithmWatch Schweiz dazu berichten.

This article is part of a project that has received funding from the European Union's Horizon Europe research and innovation program under grant agreement No 101070212.

Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.